VIDEO/REVIEW: THE CHAINSMOKERS: “#SELFIE”

The Chainsmokers have done some of my favorite remixes during the past year or so, including massive remixes of BANKS’ “Change,” The Killers’ “Miss Atomic Bomb,” Icona Pop’s “Girlfriend” and Say Lou Lou’s “Julian.”  They even have a pretty epic official, label-commissioned remix of Ellie Goulding’s “Goodness Gracious” coming out on iTunes and Beatport on March 23rd.

“#SELFIE” is the dynamic duo’s first single for a label.  Previously, they self-released a track called “The Rookie,” but now they say, “We didn’t have a clue what we were doing then.”  Well, they certainly know what they’re doing now.  “#SELFIE” is an insanely catchy slice of EDM heaven.  More than fun, it’s also amusing, given all of the ridiculous dialogue that makes up the verses.  I can definitely see this one being a smash at the clubs, especially if they release an extended mix.

Youtube info:

Published on Jan 29, 2014

#SELFIE out now on Dim Mak Records!
iTunes: http://bitly.com/SELFIE_iTunes
Go Fuck Your #SELFIE Tees: http://bitly.com/SELFIE_Tees
Beatport: http://bitly.com/SELFIE_Beatport

When we were creating this video we wanted to gather as many #SELFIE’s as we could from friends, fans, celebrities and other types that were willing to take part, so we put in a call for action and received thousands of amazing #SELFIES from so many amazing and funny ppl. We tried to pack in as many as possible, so try find yourself, and if you don’t at first, try watch it again and pls comment and share the video!

Also make sure to make your own #LETMETAKEASELFIE videos and upload them! Just follow the LINKS at the end of the Music Video or use this link here:
http://bitly.com/SELFIE_HowTo

http://www.facebook.com/thechainsmokers
http://dimmak.com
Produced/Directed and Edited by: Taylor Stephens and Ike Love Jones
Special thanks to theAudience (ESP Oliver and his Stormtroopers)

CAMEOS FROM:
Adventure Club @adventuredub and @krewellajahan
Adrian Lux @Adrian_Lux
Anabel Englund @AnabelEnglundz
ASTR @astrtv
A-Trak @atrak
Audien @Audien
Candyland @candylandDJs
Cash Cash @cashcash
Danielle Bernstein @weworewhat
David Hasselhoff @davidhasselhoff
Disco Fries @TheDiscoFries
Dzeko and Torres @dzekoandtorres
Faroeh – @TheFaroeh
Far East Movement @FarEastMovement
Fat Jew @FATJEW
Felix Cartal @felixcartal
Ian Somerhalder @iansomerhalder
Jessica Zhor @iamjessicaszohr
Jess Stam @jess_stam
Jimmy Tatro @JimmyTatro
Jus Ske @JusSke
Justin Blau @3LAU
Kirill Was Here @KirilWasHere
The Knocks @theknocks
Makj @MakJ
Milk N Cookies @milkncooks
Mysto & Pizzi @mystopizzi
Nash Grier @Nashgrier
NERVO @Nervomusic
New World Sound @newworldsound
Pete Tong @PeteTong
Pierce Fulton @PierceFulton
Smallpools @smallpools
Snoop Dogg @snoopdogg
Steve Aoki @Steveaoki
Time Flies @WhatUpCal @Timeflies
Waka Flocka @wakaflockabsm
Uberjak’d @Uberjakd

Tags: , , , , , ,

Written by

Paris365

An entertainment journalist for 20 years, Michael McCarthy was a columnist and contributing editor for the magazines Lollipop and LiveWire. He co-created and wrote for Cinezine, one of the '90's most popular movie E-zines. The only time he's not listening to music is when he's watching television shows and movies or reading, usually music magazines.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply

Message