#songoftheday = Bulletboys – “D-Evil”

The BulletBoys are back.  Marq Torien and company have just unleashed “D-Evil,” the first video and single from their forthcoming album From Out Of The Skies, and it’s a blistering hot, heavy metal tour de force.  That alone should help put BulletBoys back on the map, but if it doesn’t perhaps the fact that the song features guest vocals from Jesse Hughes of Eagles of Death Metal will.  Especially since Jesse’s vocals are so prominent in the mix.  It almost sounds like an Eagles of Death Metal song with Marq Torien on guest vocals.  I suppose that could rub some BulletBoys fans the wrong way, but has Marq ever made the same album twice?  No, he always finds new and interesting things to do, as opposed to the classic heavy metal bands that just try to re-create their hit albums over and over again.  I will admit that many of them wind up making some killer albums that way, but my ears tend to like new sounds and that’s one of the reasons that BulletBoys remain one of my favorite bands.  They were never really heavy metal anyway.  They were more like Aerosmith and Van Halen.  Ted Templeman of VH fame even produced BulletBoys classic debut album.

If you ask me, BulletBoys should’ve been as big as Guns ‘N’ Roses.  And they were for a short time when their early singles like “Smooth Up In Ya” and “For the Love of Money” were all over MTV.  In fact, if you ask me BulletBoys would be the perfect band to open for G ‘N’ R on their next tour.  I’d love to see that happen.  In the meantime, I’ll be watching the video for “D-Evil” on repeat.

From Out Of The Skies drops via Frontiers Records on March 23, 2018.  Press release:

“From Out Of The Skies” was recorded at the Foo Fighters‘ Studio 606.”Writing and recording ‘From Out Of The Skies’ was a humbling experience and recording this unpredictable album at the Foo Fighters’ Studio 606 was unbelievable and magical. Dave Grohl’s music got me through a very difficult time, so from day one I knew that we were in the right home to record. I was privileged enough to use one of Dave’s acoustic guitars to record with along with a hand picked drum set by Taylor Hawkins. I appreciate the opportunity to record there,” says Torien.
The BULLETBOYS began as a collection of talented musicians from high profile bands such as King Kobra and Ratt. Using their credentials, they were able to quickly capture the attention of music fans around the world while front man Marq Torien emerged as one of the most underrated vocalists of the era.
The BULLETBOYS formed in 1988 at the very peak of the Los Angeles glam metal movement. With record companies constantly searching for new talent, they possessed a pedigree that most bands would kill for. Unlike the other glam rockers of the day, the BulletBoys were more hard rock and blues fusion than pure hair metal. Thanks to comparisons to the likes of Aerosmith and especially Van Halen, talent scouts came running and the band quickly received their first major label contract. Over the years, they have dominated the airwaves, and remain relevant to this day in heavy rotation on VH1’s “Metal Mania” and Internet (SiriusXM’s Hair Nation, KNAC.COM, etc.) radio throughout the world!
“From Out Of The Skies” Track Listing:
1. Apocalypto
2. D-Evil
3. From Out of the Skies
4. Hi-Fi Drive By
5. Losing End Again
6. Whatcha Don’t
7. P.R.A.B.
8. Sucker Punch
9. Switchblade Butterfly
10. Once Upon a Time
For More Info Visit:
Order From Out Of The Skies on Amazon.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *