#songoftheday / #amlistening = MICHAEL SWEET: “SHINE”

Michael Sweet of Stryper is gearing up to release his tenth solo album, appropriately entitled Ten, which will be out on October 11 via Rat Pak Records in North America and Frontiers Music Srl in Europe. Today we’re pleased to bring you the excellent first single “Shine,” which features guitars by Ethan Brosh. This time around, Michael has brought on board a different lead guitarist for all but one track, “Let It Be Love,” on which he plays lead guitar. Here’s are the details:

01. Better Part Of Me (featuring Jeff Loomis of ARCH ENEMY)
02. Lay It Down (featuring Marzi Montazeri)
03. Forget, Forgive (featuring Howie Simon)
04. Now Or Never (featuring Gus G of FIREWIND)
05. Ten (featuring Rich Ward of FOZZY)
06. Shine (featuring Ethan Brosh)
07. Let It Be Love
08. Never Alone (featuring Joel Hoekstra of WHITESNAKE)
09. When Love Is Hated (featuring Joel Hoekstra of WHITESNAKE)
10. Ricochet (featuring Tracii Guns of L.A. GUNS)

Bonus tracks:

11. With You Till The End (featuring Mike Kerr and Ian Raposa from FIRSTBOURNE)
12. Son Of Man (featuring Todd La Torre of QUEENSRŸCHE and Andy James)

Note: Todd La Torre is Queensryche’s lead vocalist, so we’re hoping they duet on that one.

“Shine” is an interesting track because it finds Michael’s longtime collaborator Ethan Brosh laying down some very raw-sounding guitars that are in the vein of today’s current metal sound, but at the same time, they call to mind early Stryper. In fact, they’re a lot like the guitars on the Soldiers Under Command album. Good stuff, to say the least.

As with most of the songs Michael writes, “Shine” has inspiring lyrics that are clearly meant to elevate the listener’s spirits and leave you feeling empowered to be your best self. Crank it up and prepare to radiate positivity!

As with the last several albums Michael has made as a solo artist and with Stryper, he produced Ten himself. It was recorded and mixed by Danny Bernini at the Spirithouse Recording Studio in North Hampton and was mastered by Alex Saltz.

Here’s Michael speaking about the album: “I’m very excited about this release. There are old-school, straight-ahead metal ideas in the vein of JUDAS PRIESTDIO and IRON MAIDEN — all the stuff I love listening to! It’s called ‘Ten’ cause it’s my tenth album, and because there is a title track on there about the Ten Commandments — a really powerful song. There’s real heavy stuff. It starts kind of smacking you in the face and it ends kicking you in the gut.”

We plan to speak with Michael about the record at the end of the month when he returns from Stryper’s South American tour!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *