Daft Punk will undoubtedly be this year’s most successful electronic music duo (even if much of their latest album was produced with live instruments), but Australia’s Empire Of The Sun won’t be kept down under on the charts for much longer if there’s any justice in this world of pop. Just listen to “Alive,” the first single — from their sophomore album, Ice on the Dune — one time and you’ll be hooked. “Loving every minute cause you make me feel so alive,” goes the completely and utterly infectious chorus and it won’t be long before you’re fist-pumping the air — because, hello, you can’t play air guitar to electro-pop — and singing along. It’s one hell of a lively tune, living up to its name. And if that doesn’t do it for you, check out the sunshiny synth-fest that is “DNA.” “Let’s keep each other awake / our hearts, now they beat the same,” sings dazzling frontman Luke Steele, who happens to spend his free time writing songs for the likes of Beyonce and Usher. And the other half of this duo happens to be Nick Little of PNAU, who you should be very familiar with if you’re into electronic music. One of PNAU’s claims to fame? They recently remixed a whole bunch of Elton John songs, which Elton loved and released.

If you can’t get enough of Calvin Harris or David Guetta then you’re sure to love Empire Of The Sun, who can effortlessly build up to climaxes that soar — just as high as anything those two cats have ever done — and then break them down ever so elegantly. And, yes, Empire’s songs are so catchy and monstrous and out-of-this-worldly that they rival Daft Punk’s latest, which is saying a lot because said Daft Punk album, Random Access Memories, is nothing short of brilliant. But if happy, euphoria-inducing music makes you want to slit your wrists then you’d be wise to stay far, far away from this.

Empire Of The Sun - Ice On The Dune album cover



, , , ,



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *