We Are Scientists released a double A-side single, “Something About You” / “Let Me Win,” back on July 16th and it came as a mixed blessing.  On one hand, the songs were both killer.  On the other, it had been three years since their last album, Barbara, making fans hungry for more than just a couple of tracks.  Well, the fans are getting what they want.  Sort of.  Although it’s not exactly a whole, full-length new album, the band is gearing up to release a brand new EP called Business Casual on October 15th.  And its five tracks are all previously unreleased; it does not include the two tunes from the recent double A-side.

Business Casual was recorded at the Magic Shop in New York with producer Chris Coady (Beach House, TV on the Radio) and at Atomic Heart, also in New York, with Claudius Mittendorfer (Franz Ferdinand, Muse).  The press release indicates that it ranges from “visceral rock” to a pedal steel version of Berlin’s Top Gun staple “Take My Breath Away.”


1. Dumb Luck
2. Return the Favor
3. Good Answer
4. Courage (demo)
5. Take My Breath Away

Youtube info:

Published on Sep 11, 2013

“Business Casual,” the new EP from We Are Scientists, is out October 14 (UK/Europe), October 15 (US), and pretty close to that in other countries.
Directed by Dan Monick.

We Are Scientists - Business Casual album cover art





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *