Let me be honest: Natalie Imbruglia is one of my favorite artists.  Here in the States, she’s most known for her cover of Ednaswap’s “Torn,” but there is so much more to her than that.  In my opinion, just about everything she’s ever done is flawless, right down to her B-sides.  And she has finally announced plans to release a new studio album, her first since 2009’s excellent Come To Life.  It’s entitled Male and it features covers of songs originally written and performed by, you guessed it, males.  It will be released on July 28th, 2015 via Portrait/Sony Music Masterworks and the tracklist is as follows:

01 “Instant Crush” (Daft Punk)
02 “Cannonball” (Damian Rice)
03 “The Summer” (Josh Pike)
04 “I’ll Follow You Into The Dark” (Death Cab For Cutie)
05 “Goodbye in His Eyes” (Zac Brown Band)
06 “Friday I’m in Love” (The Cure)
07 “Naked as We Came” (Iron & Wine)
08 “Let My Love Open the Door” (Pete Townshend)
09 “Only Love Can Break Your Heart” (Neil Young)
10 “I Melt With You” (Modern English)
11 “The Waiting” (Tom Petty)
12 “The Wind” (Cat Stevens)

Natalie on “Instant Crush”:

“On the original version, you can’t really hear what the song is about because of the effect that Julian’s voice has, which I love, by the way. However, it is such a beautiful story that I want people to hear it and connect with the words. I’m really proud of the way it turned out.”



Go stream Natalie’s incredible sophomore effort , White Lilies Island, on Spotify:  It got me through a rather dark phase in my life.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *